Economics should be open

September 24, 2008

Sharing Data, a philosophy and operational rules

Filed under: Open Source — howardchong @ 8:47 pm

I’m preparing a manifesto on sharing data, but I think I better just write down my policy on sharing data.
The principles to keep in mind are that 1) data should be shared and 2) sharing data takes extra work (explaining, cleaning up, documenting). So, here is where I stand on sharing data.

  1. If the data I have is cleaned up already, you can have it. I will likely post it.
  2. If the data is not well-cleaned up and will take me time to do so, I will probably want you to give me some data or something to make it worthwhile. I’m not talking the $1000’s that consulting firms charge for data. I mean, give me some insight into the data set, a reason why you have a good idea and need the data, or lunch. If you are willing to help clean up the data (with my guidance), that is worth more than almost everything else.
  3. People who contribute to public data will be looked at favorably.

Remember the principle is open source and the key word is contribute.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

